Joanne Mattera Art Blog: Guaranteed Biased, Myopic, Incomplete and Journalistically Suspect

January 31, 2011 § Leave a comment

Have you ever wondered if being an artist is a legitimate career? Here’s a new link to bookmark, Joanne Mattera’s Art Blog: straight talk from an artist about the business side of art, among other things. A sample post….

“In a recent interview in The Guardian, the 95-year-old Cuban-born, New York City-based abstractionist Carmen Herrera–”discovered” at the age of 89–was asked what advice she would give her 20-year old self.

This is her answer:  ‘Don’t hurry up, just take your 20s as long as you can. But the 20s is not an easy time. A lot of things are coming to you that you’re not ready to absorb. You have to get old and wrinkled and grey-haired before you know what they’re talking about.’

I don’t know about the “old and wrinkled and grey-haired,” but since I teach a course to art school seniors about to embark on their art careers, I often give to them the advice I wish someone had given me. Here’s what I would tell my 20-year-old self: ……….”

Continued on http://joannemattera.blogspot.com/

Tagged: ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Joanne Mattera Art Blog: Guaranteed Biased, Myopic, Incomplete and Journalistically Suspect at Painting OWU.

meta