Dignity in Work: Cleveland’s Matthew Dibble

March 11, 2013 § 1 Comment

A Visual Conversation: The Paintings of Matthew Dibble

By Katherine Aimone   www.artswrite.com

Screen Shot 2013-03-11 at 5.56.08 PM

“Too much thinking can be an obstacle for me when painting; the ‘judge’ always seems to get in the way. My connection can only be found in the moment, and I often come back to a sense of my feet on the floor while painting. During these moments some real work is possible…. As artists, we do much better trying to keep things simple. We do better to compare ourselves solely to ourselves. Self-inventory is useful, while self-condemnation is not. Without calling our whole identity into question, there are inquiries that we can fruitfully ask. How am I developing as an artist? Am I doing the work necessary for me to mature? Did I work today? Yes? Well, that’s good. Working today is what gives us currency and self-respect. There is dignity in work.”  —Matthew Dibble

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Dignity in Work: Cleveland’s Matthew Dibble

  • Handyman UK says:

    hello there and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise some technical points using this site, as I experienced to reload the web site many times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage your high quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to my email and can look out for much more of your respective exciting content. Make sure you update this again soon.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dignity in Work: Cleveland’s Matthew Dibble at Painting OWU.

meta

